The Place or The Way?

one way road sign and empty staircase

I can’t remember a time when I wasn’t concerned about knowing the will of God for my life.  I think it was born and bred in me by my parents, who were new Christians, then nourished by a small but strong church with a vision for missions.  However it came about, I have always had a deep desire to know where God wanted me to be and what He wanted me to be doing.  I received fresh light on this matter as I was recently reading John 14.

Jesus told His disciples, 

 My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you?  And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am.  You know the way to the place where I am going. 

Obviously, the “place” and the “where” are very important.  Jesus is revealing His plans, His will for the disciples (and, yes, even for us), but when He assures them that they know the way, they are bewildered. Thomas spoke for all of them when  he argued,

Lord, we don’t know where you are going, so how can we know the way?

Jesus’ reply came as the one, simple, yet complete answer to all my questions about knowing His will and where I should be or what I should be doing”:

I am the way…

I suddenly realized that I don’t need to know the “place” (the specific will of God),  I just need the Way.   As He leads me, His plans and purposes will unfold, and together we will arrive at the place(s) He has for me.

Jesus, the Way, this word has taken a huge load off my mind; may it find a permanent resting place in my spirit!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “The Place or The Way?

  1. I liked your blog. I have been reading John again and remember reading that portion of scripture. I liked what you said in your, though never thought of it in the way you have. I like it because I never made a commitment as a follower of Jesus because of eternal reward. I just knew in my heart that God had called me to follow the way of Christ. It has not been easy as I have had to make some big changes in my life. Not out of fear, but I try to be sensitive to the Holy Spirit’s leading by reading the scripture and having a wonderful mentor who helps me to interpret what I don’t understand. To sum it up it is not an easy road but it has its blessings. I am forgiven, loved and accepted by God just the way I am. What happens after the that, I choose not to worry about it. I will trust God instead.

    Like

Leave a comment